What Does Revert on iTunes Mean?

by Tommy Charles

The iTunes "Revert" button provides a convenient way to either reject or accept changes made to your Apple device. After syncing, iTunes goes to work making whatever changes you want made. At any time, you can take a step back and restore the device to a previous state using this tool.

How iTunes Works

iTunes facilitates the storage and organization of music files on a personal computer. iTunes also serves as a standard media player, playing both video and audio files. When first installed, the software searches the computer for music files in formats it recognizes. It then organizes these files for the user and provides additional information on them by connecting to the Internet. Additionally, iTunes has built-in access to the iTunes Store, which allows the user a convenient one-stop shop for new music and podcasts.

The Syncing Procedure

Not only does iTunes locate and organize music and video files on the owner's computer, it can also export these files to compatible devices like the iPod or iPhone. To accomplish this, iTunes establishes a connection to the device and interfaces with its hard drive. This is known as "syncing." Once iTunes has been connected to a compatible device, it can add to its song library, or download its contents to the computer.

What Revert Does

Every time iTunes syncs with and modifies a compatible device's hard drive, the previous configuration is discarded. The hard drive is essentially restructured, and the user may or may not like the changes that have been made. For instance, iTunes often organizes the songs using a predetermined scheme not programmed by the user. The "Revert" function allows the user to restore the device's hard drive to the state it was in prior to the most recent sync.

How to Use Revert

After changes are made to your iTunes device, you will often be provided with the options "Revert" and "Apply." Press "Revert" to restore your Apple device to the state it was in before you connected it to iTunes. Press "Apply" to accept the changes and continue. This function is analogous to the "Undo" button on Windows devices. Any time you want to take a step backward and undo changes to your Apple device, make use of the "Revert" button.

About the Author

Tommy Charles is a professional writer and researcher for several websites. Focusing primarily on financial markets, he also writes for broader arenas and has written several articles focusing on general interest topics such as secure Web browsing, coin collecting and computer science. His ongoing series of articles concerning the FOREX market and game theory have received a wide readership.