Videos are some of people's most treasured possessions, which is why losing important ones can be very frustrating. Luckily, there are ways to recover video files that have been accidentally deleted. Recovery is not always guaranteed. It is best that you try to recover lost files as soon as they are deleted from the computer to increase your chances of recovery.
Check if the deleted videos are in your Recycle Bin. If your Recycle Bin was disabled for some reason or if the deleted files are no longer there, proceed to the next step.
Download recovery software from the Internet. Examples include "Recuva," "Undelete Plus" and "PC Inspector File Recovery," among many others. There are several of these programs available, and you can always download them online. It is possible to recover files that have been deleted from the Recycle Bin folder, but Windows does not have a tool that allows you to do this.
Run the installer and proceed with the installation. The software should be installed on a different drive from the one where the deleted file was. This is done to prevent overwriting new data onto the location where your missing files are. Otherwise, recovery could be unsuccessful.
Launch the recovery program. Select the drive where the videos were previously located. Wait for the program to scan the drive for recoverable files. This may take a little while, depending on the size of the computer drive.
Wait for the program to prompt you that the recovery process is complete. Navigate to the location of the recovered files. Open the files one by one and check if they were completely and successfully recovered.
- Save the recovered files onto an external storage device for backup purposes.
- Files that are deleted from the computer remain accessible until new data is written over them. Note, however, that recovery software cannot guarantee a 100% successful recovery process, especially if it has been a while since the video files were deleted from the computer. With continued computer use, there is a very big chance that the location of the deleted files will have been overwritten.
- video camera image by rafalwit from Fotolia.com