How to Clear the Memory on an iPhone

by Gabriele Sturmer

If you want to use your iPhone as a new device or if you are selling it to someone, you may want to clear the phone's memory. Clearing the memory erases all programs, media files and personal data on the device and restores the operating system to its factory settings. After you clear the iPhone, you can restore its data from a backup file on iTunes or set it up as a new iPhone.

Step 1

Charge your iPhone fully or connect it to its charger before proceeding. Tap "Settings" on your iPhone's main screen and select "General."

Step 2

Scroll down to the bottom of the page and tap "Reset."

Step 3

Tap "Erase All Content and Settings" and tap "Erase iPhone" to confirm that you want to clear your iPhone's memory. Your iPhone restarts after the process completes.

Tip

  • Right-click your iPhone in iTunes and select "Back Up" if you want to back up your data.

About the Author

Gabriele Sturmer has written product reviews, career education articles, short stories, poetry and technology articles since 2001. She published a Macintosh case study and a web usability report for Liberty University, where she earned a Bachelor of Science in computer science and business. Sturmer also earned a Master of Business Administration.